So, when I decided that I was going to start a blog, I wanted my first post to be perfect. I mean, let’s be real, your opinion of this post ultimately will determine if you ever take a look at my blog again. I had a topic that I felt like the Lord had given me and a title that I was sure would entice, but every time I sat down to write it was as if I were hitting a brick wall. I just couldn’t seem to figure out how to structure what I wanted to say, or even how I should say it. It wasn’t until this morning that the reason for this hit me. Yes, I believe the topic was something God had spoken to me, and I probably will share on it at a later time in some regard, but what God showed me is that the purpose of this blog is not to just share more powerful christian insight. To be another name in the face of social media propelling a facade of the “perfect” Christian life, portraying myself as someone who has it all together. Yes, the word of God is powerful and life altering, and should most definitely be shared, but what we must recognize is that the most impact is made when it is paired with vulnerability. Impression management is part of our human nature and our society today is extremelly engrossed in it. We only want others to see the good things about us. We so desperately want to be accepted that we shape, mold, and conform, portraying whatever image we feel will be accepted, even if it is at the expense of genuine connection and relationship. It should come as no surprise then, that the more we do this, the more alone we actually feel. Yes, we may have 500 friends on Facebook and lots of people who think we’re cool, but it’s all superficial. You’re not experiencing the love and acceptance that the human soul was created for and longs for; an agape love that embraces who you are, imperfections and all. Anyone can start a blog and share all the great things that God is doing in their life, and many do which is great, but what this world needs are Christians who will take off the mask and be vulnerable; people who will allow the world to walk through the mud and the mire with them so that they may see the restorative hand of God in the midst of it all. I am choosing to be that person. Matthew 7:13-14 says, “You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way. But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.” Vulnerability is incredibly hard and few people choose that path, but I believe those who do will change the world. So, welcome to my blog! I have no idea what all God has planned for this, but what I can guarantee is that this will be an outlet of vulnerability for me, and I pray, an opportunity for God to speak to you as you read.

2 thoughts on “This Is Real Life

Leave a Reply

